On April 4, 2019, the Center hosted an inspiring evening of celebration for leaders whose legal and policy advocacy has made a difference in the lives of people with disabilities.

Thank You for supporting the 2019 Annual Awards

Click here to view all of our sponsors

All of our guest speakers and our awardees!

Vanita Gupta, Holly O’Donnell, Harvey Rosenthal, Maria Rodriguez

Bazelon Staff Photo

Award Recipients:

Featured SpeakerVanita Gupta, President and CEO, The Leadership Conference on Civil & Human Rights

Corporation of the Year AwardErnst & Young, LLP

Outstanding Pro-Bono Lawyer AwardAaron M. Panner, Partner, Kellogg, Hansen, Todd, Figel & Frederick, PLLC

Outstanding Pro-Bono Law Firm AwardSteptoe & Johnson LLP

Advocate of the Year: Kathy Flaherty, Executive Director, Connecticut Legal Rights Project

Emerging Young Advocate: Nyamuon Nguany Machar,  Cultural Strategist and Advocate, Disability Rights Maine



Award Recipient Photos:

Our keynote speaker, Vanita Gupta

Ira Burnim and Aaron Panner

Jane Ryan for Steptoe

Kathy Flaherty and Maria Rodriguez

Nyamuon Nguany Machar accepting the Emerging Young Advocate Award

Patti Yoder of EY accepting the award for Corporation of the Year